Happy Two Years to ME!

Two years ago yesterday I opened up my Etsy shop.  I had no idea what it would be like, if I would do anything with it, how long I’d keep it up.  I started when we were living in Michigan.  My daughter was a baby and we lived out in nowheresville without a car most days, so sewing was something I could do to keep myself busy.

I started making dresses and stuffed owls.  I had my mom’s 1968 sewing machine that skipped stitches and weighed about a thousand pounds.  I sold a few things to friends, but the first time I sold something to someone I didn’t know, I felt SO PROUD!  Someone somewhere found my shop and wanted something enough to pay me money for it!

Along the way I’ve learned so much.  I got a new sewing machine when I realized mine was kaput, which made it so much easier to make nice things.  I figured out patterns.  I got better at sewing.

And now, here we are two years later.  I’m still sewing, I’m still selling, I’m still loving it.  I love having something to say when people ask me what I do.  Being a full time mom is hard effing work, but for some reason it sounds lame when I say it.  But I say I have an Etsy shop and it makes me so proud.  It’s something I have done on my own, with my own work, and I love it.

Thank you to everyone everywhere that’s purchased something!  It means a lot to me that you’d choose things I worked on.  I get so excited when I open my email and see the emails that tell me someone’s bought something!  And thank you to those that are fans on Facebook, followers on Twitter, and have hearted my shop on Etsy.  I love you all because you have given me something to put my heart into, besides my kids 🙂  Here’s to another great two years of growing and learning as a business owner and crafter!

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

