Cleaning and Organizing

My sewing area has changed many times over the past few months.  First it was in our back bedroom.  It had a crib in it, making it the nursery, technically, but our son slept in our room until he was 8 months old.  So, it was my sewing room.  I had a nice little set up, the room is away from everyone else at night time so my sewing machine wasn’t bothering anyone. 

Then Otis moved to his room.  My sewing stuff made its way out to the dining room.  I just kind of stuffed it against the wall, brought out the machine when needed, tried to clean it up.  Unfortunately, that meant having to pick up projects every mealtime and move them, move the machine, etc, and it just wasn’t working.  So…another change.

Our desktop went kaput so we could move that out of the way and finally just use the laptop all the time.  I love laptops, I don’t know why we had a desktop for as long as we did.  But that’s neither here nor there.  The sewing stuff, ahem.  I moved it all over to what used to be our computer area.  I went through each and every piece of fabric I have and really thought about if I would use it and if so, what for?  I have bins of fabric I’ve had forever, and instead of actually using about half of it, I would just buy more I liked better.  Because there is always a fabric I like better! 

I got see through bins for the fabric I did keep, because I realized that if I couldn’t see the fabric, I didn’t get inspired to make anything.  I have all the finished projects on one side, which is nice so I can see what I have, what I need to make more of.  And I went through my sewing basket finally and organized little things like needles and floss and thread. 

I know some day I would love to have a whole room that is devoted to just my junk, so my husband doesn’t have to look at it, so my kids can’t get into it, so I can shut myself away with a pot cup of coffee and get some work done.  For now, though, I will be content that I at least have this little area.  We’ve lived in some small ass apartments in our 8 years together, I know when not to complain!

Do you have a sewing room?  Or a room devoted to whatever hobby you have?  Do you find it as stupidly fun as I do to organize it?  I’m such a nerd for organization…

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

