Art Vs Craft

Saturday was the day.  My pal Katie came over bright and early, we packed up the car, and were off to the show.  It was so much fun!  We had a pretty crappy spot, all the way in the back corner, but it ended up being kind of nice because we had the corner all to ourselves.  It was busy from 10am to 6pm when it closed.  Craziness!

My booth. My helper.

I had blankets, bibs, tag blankets, garlands, bunnies, whales, owls, washcloths and cloth wipes.  It was interesting to see what people gravitated toward.  We hung a Star Trek bib out front (made from a vintage sheet, a little Kirk and Spock action!) which everyone came over to see, it was funny to see their reactions.

Table of goodies.

I sold a ton of bibs.  People loved them, which makes me happy.  I have a whole drawer full of them for my kids, so I know they work.  And they last through two kids and multiple washings.  Years worth of washings!  I did not sell any cloth wipes, which surprised me.  I sell a ton of those in the shop.  I did read somewhere that your shop and your shows will sell differently.  Now I know, it’s true.

A rack o' blankets and bibs.

I totally want to do this again sometime.  I don’t know if I could do a ton of shows, just logistically, but I’d definitely do Art Vs Craft again.  The stress paid off, it was a great day and I made enough money to go buy an ipad yesterday!  Fun for the whole family.  Speaking of which, the whole family came to see me and Ingrid did not want to leave.  She got a box of popcorn, sat on a chair, and said she was there to sell things.  She’d shove a bunny or owl in someone’s face and say “You gonna buy this?”  And really, how could you say no?

She knows how to sell.

And now I’m trying to clean up the mess in my dining room, restock the shop, and get back to actually playing with my kids.  Just in time for Christmas!

 

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Art Vs Craft

  1. I found your blog by tag surfing in wordpress. 🙂 I just had to stop and say Good Lawd you got a lotta stuff there lady!! Very prolific. The felt owls in the corner are eye-catching and really cute! And I love all the colors. Congrats on your show and your new iPad!

  2. Congrats!!! Of course people loved your stuff!!!!

Leave a Reply

