Here Comes 2012!

How were your holidays?  My family and I drove five hours to my mom’s, which turned out to the be the best ever.  It snowed the night we got there, so we had a white Christmas!  Despite kids being sick and not sleeping, we had fun.

And now we’re home, the new toys have been put away, and I am ready to sew!  While I was gone, the mailman brought me some super dreamy 100% organic terry cloth.  It is to die for!  I have some Birch Fabrics organic cotton to work with and I wanted to try an organic backing, too.  I have some burp cloths and washcloths cut out ready to go today!

Here’s what I have been working on this week:

First up, flannel swaddling blankets.  I found some super cute flannel and just had to make something with it!  I swaddled my son for about six months, he just wouldn’t sleep otherwise.  These are oversized so they can handle a bigger babe.And some more bibs.  I had a lady ask for five bibs and realized I had to replenish the shop, asap!That one is made from an upcycled Irish souvenir tablecloth!  I got three bibs out of that one tablecloth, it was great!

Any New Year’s resolutions?  I’m not big on making them, but if I did, they’d be to yell less at my three year old, haha, and try to get out in the fresh air more.  As far as the shop goes, I just want to make more things with organic fabrics and try to pay attention to my costs more!  And try to get into a couple shows, too, since Art Vs. Craft was so fun!

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

