Sewing Nook

I used to have a whole room to myself and my mess.  Now the little is in his own room, so I had to move all my junk out to the dining room.  It’s been a bit challenging coming up with a space to call my own in the middle of our dining room, but I think I’ve come up with something!

The other day I was moving the dining room table to vaccum the rug, and just that movement a few inches over opened up a whole corner that was being unused!  I had a decorating epiphany and my sewing nook was born.  I moved the dining table, brought in a table from the kitchen that was in the way and just being used to dump junk on, and put my ironing board over in the corner.  It worked!  A sewing nook that was tucked away and not the first thing you saw when you looked at my dining room!

Then I noticed a blank wall I’d be staring at and I went into project mode.  I’ve seen a lot of people using the old embroidery hoop/fabric decoration and I have to say I like it.  Cheap, easily changable when you get bored, easy to hang.  Awhile ago I found a big bag of hoops at the thrift store for $2, so I snatched them up with the idea I’d be doing this somewhere in my house.  I pulled out a bin of fabric and chose ones that made me happy just looking at them.  And this is the finished product!

I had a picture of Ingrid up there, too, but the frame fell off the wall and broke.  Oops.  Maybe some day I’ll get another frame, but until then I have these lovely fabrics to look at!  In case you’re wondering, they are:

1. a vintage gay sailor knit
2. Birch Fabrics’ ukelele print
3. Michael Miller’s love birds print
4. Birch Fabrics’ happy summer print
5. Birch Fabrics’ circa 50 print (love those midcentury ranches!)
6. a modern floral I got at Joann Fabric (not sure of the name?)
7. Alexander Henry’s teeny tiny zoo print
8. Laurie Wisbrun’s Pooches and Pickups print

I like to go to Joann for some fabric, but if I’m looking for organic or designer fabrics, I like to go to fabricworm, poppyseed fabrics, Moona Fabrics, and Skye Reve Fabrics.

Now I’m all motivated to create.  Can someone tell my kids that so they’ll leave me alone for a second?

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Nook

  1. OliversForest says:

    brilliant!

Leave a Reply

