Handmade Shops

When I lived in Michigan, I sold my stuff at this little place called Blue House Ann Arbor.  I loved it!  A cute old house that the wonderful lady turned into a shop and a place to have classes for crafty things.  I think that is such a good idea, every town needs a place like that!

I was recently contacted by someone that just opened a similar handmade shop in Milwaukee.  It’s called the Waxwing and it’s so awesome!  I have only been there for a few minutes, while I was dropping my goods off there, but even then it struck me how cool the store is. 

There is artwork, jewelry, stuffed animals, my baby stuff, a little bit of something for everyone.  The perfect place to go get a gift or treat yourself.  I am very proud to be one of the artists included in this shop!

I also got a wholesale order from a handmade shop in Lawrence, Kansas, called Made.  They ordered some stuffed bunnies to have on hand for Easter.  I absolutely love how they looked in the pictures she sent me!
 

I am so glad little handmade stores are around!  Not only do you get to buy one of a kind items, but you’re supporting the community of crafters and artists.  And it is such a community–I feel like there is so much support out there just from other crafters.  I feel like I was invited to a cool party, all these people doing their thing and enjoying and supporting what other people are doing.  It makes me all warm inside.

So go see if there’s a handmade shop in your city!  And if so, go frequent it and buy something from it.  The store owner and the person who made you your item will thank you for it.

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Handmade Shops

  1. OliversForest says:

    what an amazing shop! congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

