Art at the Gardens

Whew, it’s been awhile.  My family and I moved into our very first home!  No more renting for us!  It has been very crazy, way more hectic than I’d imagined it would be, seeing as we’ve moved so much in the past.  The weekend directly after we moved in, I had a show.  I know, smart, right?  The funny thing is, I was also going to do one the weekend before we moved!  Luckily I backed out of that one so I could focus on packing and trying to finish up items for the other show.

It was Art at the Gardens at the Boerner Botanical Gardens.  It was both outdoors and inside, and I had gotten an inside table.  At first I was bummed because it would be nice to be outside at the botanical gardens, right?  I am so glad I was inside, though, as we had a monsoon that day!!  Seriously, hail and rain and wind and thunder and lightning.  It was insane.

Unfortunately that means there was not a huge turnout.  It was pretty slow and although lots of people browsed, only a handful actually bought anything.  It was still fun, though, as I was there with a friend and we got bloody maries and sat chatting all day.  A day away from kids is a well used day in my book, haha!

After only having done one show before, I was glad to get another one under my belt.  I had fun thinking of cute things to do on the table and ways to make things look presentable.  I found some cheap wooden signs and painted them with chalkboard paint so I could write on them.  I love how they turned out!

I also got some labels and kraft paper strips to package up my washcloths and burpcloths.  I am also pleased with how they turned out. 

At Art Vs. Craft I didn’t even think of bringing a table cloth, which was like the number one thing every single person had!  This time I came prepared, with a white table cloth to cover the whole table, and a vintage Florida souvineer one to give a pop of color.  I had a bunting I’d had hanging in my daughter’s room to hang on the front, and there you go!  A colorful table this time.

A huge thank you to Jack Roepke for taking these pictures for me! 

Next show for me is the PBR Fest at Burnhearts in June.  Pretty excited about that one, it should be fun!

 

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art at the Gardens

  1. OliversForest says:

    great set-up! love the little chalk boards! congrats!

Leave a Reply

