House Stuff

I love having a house.  I love knowing we’ll be here for awhile and I don’t have to ask anyone if it’s okay if I paint.  Well, I should ask my husband but he’s easier to convince than a landlord…

Our dining room looked like this before:

I hated the orange.  It was too southwestern for my taste, and made the room look really small.  In my humble opinion, the husband didn’t seem to see a problem with it.  But I did, so I looked on Pinterest and found some ideas.  I seemed to keep going back to a light blueish turquoise color, like these:

Off to Home Depot I went to snag a can of paint and some brushes.  And then the other day I woke up determined to get it done, even though I had two kids running around wanting to “help.”  Somehow I finished the room, don’t ask how, I don’t even know!  And here it is, just little bits, as I haven’t painted the trim yet, and I still have to get a new dining set (we have some beat up old Ikea stuff, not looking too pretty anymore.)

 

 

Now to paint trim and find a dining set.  I really want to find something old and round and paint it white, but I’m not having too much luck.  I’m determined, though!  And then I can have one room completely done!

About applesaucecrafts

Wife to Brendan, mom to Ingrid and Otis. We live in Milwaukee with our psycho cat Frances. I like to sew, read, watch 30Rock, drink coffee, and eat donuts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House Stuff

  1. alisha says:

    great minds! i just did the dining room this color. i am totally amazed you did that with the kids around!!!! it’s beautiful!

    • Honestly, it was crazy! Ingrid watched TV and I let her help with a brush, but Otis was just into everything, making handprints on the walls, I kept having to chase him around to wipe off the paint! Why I didn’t just wait for a babysitter I will never know. Adventures in motherhood.

Leave a Reply

